The history of the city reaches back to the year 1324; from that year comes the first note. In 1346 Duszniki received a town charter, territorially belonging to the Germany at the time. Over centuries the town has been developing thanks to the trade, papermaking and weaving industry, and for some time thanks to metallurgy. In 1605 the paper mill was built, which till today is a monument on a European scale. World War II did not bring destruction to the city.
Duszniki’s Market square has a long history. There is a medieval arrangement, baroque and Renaissance monuments. Its direct surrounding is filled with very precious, architectural monuments, including a tenement by Słowackiego 2 street, which is the oldest building in the city (1598) and the former inn “Pod czarnym niedźwiedziem”. The Market square is also rich in many sculptures, low reliefs and plaques, which commemorate former events.
Reaching back to the year 1324, the history of Duszniki-Zdrój is still visible in many corners of the town. The historic tenements render the unique climate, which was present here before the outbreak of World War II and earlier. Of course, the architectural gem is the Paper Mill. However, it is not the only commemoration of the past. The Market square, its surrounding buildings, a row of houses come from the times of many past ages.
Park Zdrojowy- the most beautiful part of Duszniki-Zdrój, which climate and diversity of colours enchants at every time of the season. The history of the park is directly connected with the development of the city as the health resort. However, its present shape is due to the actions of the contemporary authorities from the 70’s and 80’s of the 19th century. It is the most frequently visited place, not only by patients and inhabitants, but also by a large number of tourists and even sport groups.
The first mentions about the healing properties of the local water come from the 15th century. The historic pump room was built in the first part of the 19th century. In its offer one may find healing waters, among others Chopin’s Pieniawa or Jan Kazimierz. For years it was often visited. Pump room is one of the places contributing to the resort character of Duszniki-Zdrój. Inside it there are also shops with souvenirs and small concert hall.
It is yet another of Duszniki-Zdrój’s special attractions. For the first time it shot in 1905 and since that time it has become the permanent element of Dusznicki’s park. Today guests from the entire Poland visit the fountain to witness its show. Special performances are held in all days free of work since May to September, and every day during the International Chopin Festival.